Samuel West to narrate new Inspector Morse audio books

Actor Samuel West is bringing Colin Dexter’s Inspector Morse to life once more with a new set of audio book recordings.

West will ill read the entirety of Dexter’s Inspector Morse series, as well as the short story collection Morse’s Greatest Mystery and Other Stories, for a new audio series from Pan Macmillan.

The new unabridged editions he is narrating will be available as audio downloads and be published in October and December this year.

The first Inspector Morse novel – Last Bus to Woodstock was published in 1975 and the final book, The Remorseful Day, was published in 1999.

West said audio could sometimes be an even more immersive experience than reading. “Audio is a good way to meet these stories: you paint the scenery yourself, so the listener becomes involved in the book in a way that’s not always true as a reader,” he said. “As an actor I love doing them because you cast the whole thing in your head and then get to play all the parts yourself. What could be better?”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.