All-star cast to read new Miss Marple audiobook

Alex Kingston, Alison Steadman, Bridgerton’s Adjoa Andoh and Miriam Margolyes are among the celebrity readers of a new audiobook, based on Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple stories.

Marple takes Christie’s iconic female detective on a crime-solving spree that transports her from her quiet village of St Mary Mead to the bustling streets of New York, to the sun-soaked Italian riviera and beyond.

It includes new stories based on the character written by numerous different writers.

It will be released on 15th September to mark Agatha Christie’s birthday. 

James Prichard, CEO of Agatha Christie Limited and Agatha Christie’s great-grandson, said: “The different voices that will tell these different stories only emphasises the variety and breadth within the collection. Audio is often an added extra for a book. This is more than that.”

A written version will also be released next month.

The full cast, in the order the stories appear in the book, is: 

  • Alex Kingston reads Evil in Small Places by Lucy Foley
  • Adrian Scarborough reads The Second Murder at the Vicarage by Val McDermid
  • Adjoa Andoh reads Miss Marple Takes Manhattan by Alyssa Cole
  • Imogen Stubbs reads The Unravelling by Natalie Haynes
  • Alison Steadman reads Miss Marple’s Christmas by Ruth Ware
  • Jodhi May reads The Open Mind by Naomi Alderman
  • Chipo Chung reads The Jade Empress by Jean Kwok
  • Cathy Tyson reads A Deadly Wedding Day by Dreda Say Mitchell
  • Ramon Tikaram reads Murder at the Villa Rosa by Elly Griffiths
  • Tanya Reynolds reads The Murdering Sort by Karen M McManus
  • Celia Imrie reads The Mystery of the Acid Soil by Kate Mosse
  • Miriam Margolyes reads The Disappearance by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.