Spielberg, Streisand and Washington set for honours

Steven Spielberg, Barbra Streisand and Denzel Washington will all be honoured over the next couple of months.

Spielberg, Streisand, Stephen Sondheim, James Taylor and Gloria and Emilio Estefan will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Obama on November 24.

The Award is America’s highest civilian honour and is presented to individuals “who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

Meanwhile, Washington has been announced as the recipient of this year’s Cecil B DeMille Award at the Golden Globes.

Previous recipients include George Clooney, Jodie Foster and Morgan Freeman.

He’ll receive the award at the annual ceremony, hosted by Ricky Gervais, on January 10.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.